The Frankfurter Allgemeine Forum and the Munich Security Conference (MSC) are co-organising the »Energy Security Summit« under the chairmanship of Ambassador Wolfgang Ischinger (MSC) and editor Berthold Kohler (F.A.Z.).

Decision-makers from the worlds of politics, business and science will convene again for the third annual Energy Security Summit, to be held on 6/7 May 2015, in Berlin.

Current political crises and conflicts result in fundamental transformations of the international order. This in turn has a radical impact on the energy markets and energy security. »Energy policy is foreign policy«, the German Minister for Foreign Affairs Frank-Walter Steinmeier said at the last Energy Security Summit.

The third summit analyzes the current political and geostrategic challenges and focuses on possible energy diversification strategies, green technologies and the new order of energy policies and markets.


  • Wolfgang Ischinger, Ambassador, Chairman, Munich Security Conference
  • Berthold Kohler, Publisher, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung


  • Mohammed bin Hamad Al Rumhy, Minister of Oil and Gas, Sultanate of Oman
  • Natig Aliyev, Minister of Industry and Energy, Republic of Azerbaijan
  • Rainer Baake, State Secretary, Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, Federal Republic of Germany
  • Jason Bordoff, Founding Director, Center on Global Energy Policy, Columbia University
  • Sorin Ducaru, Assistant Secretary General for Emerging Security Risks, NATO
  • Michael Fuchs, Chairman of the German Group, The Trilateral Commission; Member of the German Bundestag
  • Ivan Dmitrievich Grachev, Member of the State Duma, Chairman of the Committee for Energy, Russian Federation
  • Ulrich Grillo, President, Federation of German Industries
  • Jane Harman, President, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars; Member of the Advisory Council, Munich Security Conference
  • Amos J. Hochstein, Acting Special Envoy and Coordinator for International Energy Affairs, Department of State, United States of America
  • Bärbel Höhn, Member of the German Bundestag, Chairwoman of the Committee on the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety
  • Andriy Kobolyev, Chief Executive Officer, Naftogaz
  • Kirill Molodtsov, Deputy Minister of Energy, Ministry of Energy, Russian Federation
  • Marie-José Nadeau, Chair, World Energy Council
  • Kumi Naidoo, Executive Director, Greenpeace International
  • Volkmar Pflug, Head of Market and Competitive Intelligence, Siemens AG Power and Gas
  • Friedbert Pflüger, Director of the European Centre for Energy and Resource Security, King’s College London
  • Norbert Röttgen, Member of the German Bundestag, Chairman of the Committeeon Foreign Affairs, CDU/CSU Parliamentary Group
  • Urban Rusnák, Secretary General, Energy Charter Treaty
  • Wolfgang Schüssel, Former Federal Chancellor of the Republic of Austria, Vienna
  • Maroš Šefčovič, Vice-President and Commissioner for the Energy Union, European Union
  • Stephan Steinlein, State Secretary, Federal Foreign Office, Federal Republic of Germany
  • Narendra Taneja, President, World Energy Policy Summit; Chairman of the Energy Security Group, Federation of India Chambers of Commerce and Industry
  • Bijan Namdar Zanganeh, Minister of Petroleum, Islamic Republic of Iran
  • Olena Zerkal, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ukraine


  • Katinka Barysch, Director of Political Relations, Allianz SE
  • Nikolas Busse, Deputy Foreign Editor, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung
  • Sonya Diehn, Environment Leader, Deutsche Welle
  • Wulf Schmiese, Correspondent/Hauptstadtstudio, ZDF

Barbara Mittelhammer
Press Officer & Project Manager
Munich Security Conference
Stiftung Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz
Tel.: +49 89 379 79 490

Jörg Ottmann
Director Politics & Economics
Frankfurter Allgemeine Forum
Tel.: +49 69 75 91 -26 95

Ulrike Berendson
Managing Director
Frankfurter Allgemeine Forum
Tel.: +49 69 75 91 -26 17 6 May 2015, Evening Reception
F.A.Z. Atrium
Mittelstraße 2-4, 10117 Berlin

Directions >

7 May 2015, Summit
ESMT - European School of
Management and Technology
Schloßplatz 1, 10178 Berlin

Directions >

Please fill the fields below and submit form.


Fields with a * are mandatory fields and need to be filled

Thank you for your request.

We will keep you informed about this and similar events.

Technische Störung

Ihre Anfrage konnte auf Grund einer technischen Störung leider nicht versand werden. Bitte versuchen Sie es zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt nochmals oder schicken Sie uns eine E-mail an:
Wir danken für Ihr Verständnis!