The Munich Security Conference (MSC) and the Frankfurter Allgemeine Forum are co-organising the »Energy Security Summit« under the chairmanship of Ambassador Wolfgang Ischinger (MSC) and editor Dr Günther Nonnenmacher (F.A.Z.) for the second time.

The shale revolution may well be heralding the next »great game« on the geostrategic map and in global energy markets. Together with a growing global energy demand, it has begun to have a radical impact on global markets and the future of energy supply, with large implications for international relations, for states and societies and the global economy. As a result, the quest for reliable energy supply has become an even more important topic on national and international agendas in recent years. The »Ukraine Crisis« and its very significant energy dimension further illustrates the critical importance of energy matters and demonstrates the intersection of energy and geopolitics.

The shale revolution and its consequences for global energy security take centre stage at the second edition of this summit. Bringing together decision-makers from the worlds of politics, business and science, the Energy Security Summit promotes interdisciplinary discourse and offers a platform for international exchange concerning new energy markets, a sustainable security of supply, and the geopolitical implications of a potential next »great game«.


  • Wolfgang Ischinger, Ambassador, Chairman of the Munich Security Conference
  • Günther Nonnenmacher, Publisher, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung


  • Irakli Alasania, Minister of Defence, Georgia
  • Hüseyin Bagci, Professor, Chair of the Department of International Relations, Middle East Technical University
  • Uwe Karl Beckmeyer, Parliamentary State Secretary, Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, Federal Republic of Germany
  • Reinhard Bütikofer, Member of the European Parliament, Vice Chairman of the Greens / European Free Alliance Parliamentary Group
  • Gina Cohen, Lecturer, Graduate Program for Petroleum Engineers, Technion – Israel Institute of Technolog
  • Christoph Frei, Secretary General, World Energy Council
  • Maciej H. Grabowski, Minister of the Environment, Republic of Poland
  • Ivan Dmitrievich Grachev, Member of the State Duma, Chairman of the Committee for Energy, Russian Federation
  • Jürgen Grossmann, Chairman of the Board of Trustees, RAG Foundation
  • Jan Hamáček, Member of the Parliament of the Czech Republic, President of the Chamber of Deputies
  • Arseniy Jatsenyuk, Prime Minister, Ukrain
  • Markus Kerber, Managing Director and Member of the Board, Federation of German Industries
  • Horst-Tore Land, CEO, TouGas Oilfield Solutions GmbH
  • Anne Lauvergeon, Chairwoman and CEO, A.L.P S.A.
  • Frank Mastiaux, CEO, EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG
  • Hasan Murat Mercan, Deputy Minister of Energy and Natural Resources, Republic of Turkey
  • Elshad Nassirov, Vice-President for Investments and Marketing, State Oil Company of Azerbaijan
  • Jaroslav Neverovič, Minister of Energy, Republic of Lithuania
  • Răzvan-Eugen Nicolescu, Minister Delegate for Energy, Romania
  • Udo Niehage, Senior Vice President, Head of Government Affairs Berlin and Company Representative for the German Energy Transition, Siemens AG
  • Günther Oettinger, Commissioner for Energy, European Union
  • Carlos Pascual, Ambassador, Special Envoy and Coordinator for International Energy Affairs, Department of State, United States of America
  • Friedbert Pflüger, Director, European Centre for Energy and Resource Security (EUCERS), King’s College London
  • Norbert Röttgen, Member of the German Bundestag, Chairman of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, CDU/CSU Parliamentary Group
  • Paul van Son, CEO, Dii – Desertec Industrial Initiative
  • Frank-Walter Steinmeier, Federal Minister for Foreign Affairs, Federal Republic of Germany
  • Serhij Taruta, Chairman of the board of directors, ISD
  • Harry Tzimitras, Director PRIO Cyprus Centre
  • Alexander Weiss, Director Electric Power and Natural Gas, McKinsey & Company Inc.
  • Alf Henryk Wulf, CEO, Alstom Germany
  • Youcef Yousfi, Minister for Energy and Mines, People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria
  • Brigitte Zypries, Parliamentary State Secretary, Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, Federal Republic of Germany


  • Katinka Barysch, Director of Political Relations, Allianz
  • Rainer Hermann, Editor, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung
  • David Koranyi, Deputy Director, Dinu Patriciu Eurasia Center Atlantic Council
  • Michaela Küfner, Journalist, Deutsche Well
  • Wulf Schmiese, Journalist, ZDF

Oliver Joachim Rolofs
Press Spokesman
Munich Security Conference
Stiftung Münchner
Tel.: +49 89 379 79 4921

Jörg Ottmann
Director Politics & Economics
Frankfurter Allgemeine Forum
Tel.: +49 69 75 91 -26 95

Ulrike Berendson
Managing Director
Frankfurter Allgemeine Forum
Tel.: +49 69 75 91 -26 17 27 May 2014, Evening Reception
F.A.Z. Atrium
Mittelstraße 2-4, 10117 Berlin

Directions >

28 May 2014, Conference
European School of
Management and Technology
Schloßplatz 1, 10178 Berlin

Directions >

Please fill the fields below and submit form.


Fields with a * are mandatory fields and need to be filled

Thank you for your request.

We will keep you informed about this and similar events.

Technische Störung

Ihre Anfrage konnte auf Grund einer technischen Störung leider nicht versand werden. Bitte versuchen Sie es zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt nochmals oder schicken Sie uns eine E-mail an:
Wir danken für Ihr Verständnis!